Goodcall vs Rosie at a glance
Both are AI receptionists for small businesses. Both answer calls 24/7, take messages, book appointments and send texts. The difference is how they bill and what they publish.
Goodcall bills per unique customer, not per minute. Rosie bills per minute with a monthly allowance. That one difference decides most of the comparison.
| Spec | Goodcall | Rosie |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | AI answering service and receptionist for small businesses | AI answering service that answers calls, books appointments, texts call details |
| Who sets it up | Business owner, no-code | Business owner, trains from your website and Google Business Profile |
| Billing unit | Flat monthly, per unique customer | Flat monthly, per minute allowance |
| Entry price | $79 a month (Starter) | $49/month (Professional) |
| Per-unit price | 79¢ per extra unique customer on Starter, 26¢ on Growth, 15¢ on Scale | Not published; the FAQ asks about overage but no answer appears |
| Free option | Free demo agent: build, test, hear it answer; pay only when you connect a number | 7-day free trial with all features |
| Channels | Phone, SMS | Phone, web chat, SMS |
| Handoff | Transfers to your line, a person or department; message, self-service link or callback; backup if no pickup | Warm or cold transfers; Scale adds warm and live transfers; Growth adds waterfall transfers |
| Booking | Checks your calendar, offers times, books, texts details; Google Calendar shown connected | Direct calendar booking on Scale and up; Professional texts appointment links |
| Compliance | SOC 2 and HIPAA stated on the site | None stated |
| Integrations count | 7 listed (Google Calendar, HighLevel, Zapier, Google Voice, CRM, API, MCP server) | 2 listed (Zapier, Google Business Profile) |
Numbers first. Goodcall's cheapest plan covers 100 unique customers a month. Rosie's cheapest plan covers 250 minutes a month.
Same 300 calls, two bills
We can model both, but only one side is complete.
Assume 300 calls at 3 minutes each, and assume every call is a different caller. That is the worst case for Goodcall, since it bills unique callers (one phone number, once a month; spam and wrong numbers do not count).
Goodcall: 300 unique callers exceeds the Starter plan's 100. You would be on Growth at $129 a month, which includes 500 unique customers. Bill: $129.
Rosie: 300 calls at 3 minutes is 900 minutes. That fits the Scale plan at $149/month with 1,000 minutes. Bill: $149.
At 600 calls (1,800 minutes), Goodcall stays on Growth: 100 extra customers at 26¢ each is $26, so $155 total (Goodcall pricing). Rosie needs the Growth plan at $299/month for 2,000 minutes (Rosie pricing).
At 1,000 calls (3,000 minutes), Goodcall on Growth is $129 plus 500 extra customers at 26¢, so $259. Rosie is over its top published allowance of 2,000 minutes, and the pages we read do not state the overage rate. We cannot compute that bill.
| Monthly volume | Goodcall | Rosie |
|---|---|---|
| 300 calls / 900 min | $129 (Growth) | $149 (Scale) |
| 600 calls / 1,800 min | $155 (Growth) | $299 (Growth) |
| 1,000 calls / 3,000 min | $259 (Growth) | Over plan; rate not published |
One caveat: Goodcall's model assumes every call is a new caller. Repeat callers cost you nothing extra. Rosie's model charges every minute, repeat or not.
Where is Goodcall stronger?
Predictable billing. Minutes, calls and tokens are never metered. Overage is a published per-customer rate (79¢, 26¢ or 15¢ depending on plan) with no penalty rate. Every plan includes a local number.
Compliance. The site states SOC 2 compliant and HIPAA compliant. Rosie states no certifications.
Integrations. Seven are listed, including Google Calendar, HighLevel, Zapier, Google Voice, your own CRM, an API and an MCP server. Rosie lists Zapier and Google Business Profile.
Try before paying. The free demo agent lets you build it, test it and hear it answer. Payment starts only when you connect a number.
Booking depth. It checks your calendar, offers the caller times that fit, books it and texts everyone the details, on the standard flow.
The trade-offs: plans cap external tools (1 on Starter, 5 on Growth, 15 on Scale) and workers (5/10/20). AI test-run usage is metered by plan allowance and topped up $5 at a time. Languages supported and Enterprise pricing are not stated. See the full Goodcall profile.
Where is Rosie stronger?
Entry price. $49/month against $79 a month. If your call volume fits 250 minutes, that is the cheaper way in.
Bilingual answering. Rosie speaks fluent English and Spanish on every call, with 10+ voices and a custom agent name. Goodcall does not state supported languages on the pages provided.
Channels. A website chat widget is included free on every plan, plus iOS and Android apps. Goodcall lists phone and SMS only.
Trial. A 7-day free trial with all features, cancel anytime, is simpler than a demo agent if you want the real thing on your own number fast.
Industries named. Home services, law firms, property management, construction, real estate, plumbing, automotive, salons, HVAC and accounting are all listed.
The trade-offs: overage cost is not published, direct calendar booking and warm or live transfers require the $149 Scale plan, and no compliance certifications are stated. See the full Rosie profile.
Which one should you pick?
Pick Goodcall if:
- You miss calls and want a flat monthly bill that never meters minutes.
- You need SOC 2 or HIPAA compliance stated by the vendor.
- You want calendar booking, CRM updates and more than two integrations.
- Your callers repeat: unique-customer billing means repeat callers do not add cost.
Pick Rosie if:
- You want the lowest entry price and your volume fits a minute allowance.
- You need English and Spanish answering out of the box.
- You want a website chat widget included without an add-on fee.
- You are in home services, legal, property management or a similar listed industry and want self-setup.
If neither fits, browse the AI receptionist category or run your own volume through the AI call center savings calculator. For context on what these services cost across the market, see our AI receptionist cost guide.
Goodcall
Rosie