What an AI receptionist actually does on a call
Forget the marketing pages. Based on what vendors publish, an AI receptionist handles five jobs on a live call:
- Answers 24/7. Every tool in this guide answers around the clock, including weekends and holidays. Upfirst answers in English, Spanish, and 35+ other languages and switches when the caller does. Smith.ai and Rosie handle English and Spanish on every plan.
- Takes structured messages. Instead of voicemail, the AI asks the questions you configure and sends you a summary, recording, and transcript. Rosie includes custom message-taking scenarios on every plan; Smith.ai includes recording and transcription from the free plan up.
- Transfers calls. Urgent or complex calls route to you or your team. Warm transfers (the AI briefs you before connecting) are standard on most tools above entry tier: Upfirst and Smith.ai include them broadly, Dialzara gates warm transfer behind its $99/month Business Pro plan, and Rosie's Growth plan adds waterfall transfers that try multiple numbers until someone answers (Rosie pricing).
- Books appointments. The AI checks your live calendar while the caller is on the line and books an open slot. Upfirst books directly into Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Square, and Clio Manage. Goodcall checks your calendar and texts everyone the details. Smith.ai includes AI Scheduling on every plan.
- Filters spam. Smith.ai filters known spam before answering so those calls never count against your quota. Upfirst includes spam blocking on every plan.
What it does not do: replace your staff for genuinely complex conversations. Every vendor here builds in an escalation path to a human, which tells you the limits are real.
AI receptionist comparison: every tool we track
Entry pricing across the ten AI receptionists in our directory. All prices are published rates; quote-only vendors say so.
| Tool | Entry price | Billing unit | Human handoff | Booking |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upfirst | $24.95/month | Per-call overage ($1.50/additional call) | Warm transfer with caller context | Yes, direct into Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Square, Clio |
| Dialzara | $29/month | Per-minute ($0.48/min overage on Lite) | Blind transfer on Lite; warm from Pro up | Yes, Google/Outlook sync |
| Rosie | $49/month | Flat monthly (250 min included) | Warm/live transfers from Scale ($149/mo) | Links by text on entry; direct booking from Scale |
| Goodcall | $79 a month | Per unique caller (79¢ overage on Starter) | Transfer to your line, person, or department | Yes, checks calendar and texts details |
| My AI Front Desk | $99/mo | Flat monthly (200 voice min; $0.25/min overage) | Warm transfer or real-time alert with transcript | Yes, against live calendar with CRM write-back |
| Smith.ai AI Receptionist | $150/mo (free plan exists) | Per-call ($2.00/call on Pro) | Optional live North America receptionists, per-call add-on | Yes, AI Scheduling on every plan |
| Ruby | $250/month | Flat monthly (100 receptionist minutes) | Live humans answer; connect per your preferences | Yes, scheduling included at no extra cost |
| Slang.ai | $399 per location | Flat monthly (restaurants) | Instant human transfer on request; VIP routing | Yes, OpenTable, SevenRooms, Yelp, Resy |
| Arini | Custom quote | Quote only (dental) | Not published | Yes, plus outbound patient reactivation |
| Avoca | Custom quote | Quote only (home services) | Emergency escalation; human-in-the-loop deployment | Yes, books jobs into ServiceTitan |
Ruby is the outlier: it is live human receptionists supported by AI tools, not an autonomous AI. We include it because buyers cross-shop it, and it anchors the "when a human is still the better buy" question below.
How AI receptionists bill
Four billing models dominate this category, and the model matters more than the sticker price.
- Per call (Smith.ai, Upfirst): you pay for each answered call. Upfirst Starter is $24.95/month for 30 calls, then $1.50 per additional call.
- Per minute (Dialzara, My AI Front Desk, Rosie): plans include a minute bucket, then charge overage. Dialzara Business Lite is $29/month for 60 minutes, then $0.48/min.
- Per unique caller (Goodcall): one phone number counts once per month no matter how often it calls. Starter is $79 a month for 100 unique customers.
- Flat monthly (Slang.ai, Ruby): a set allowance at a set price. Slang.ai Core is $399 per location.
For worked monthly bills at 100 to 1,000 calls, hidden fees and the comparison with a human hire, see our full breakdown of AI receptionist cost, or run your own numbers in the AI call center savings calculator.
When is a human service still the better buy?
AI receptionists handle volume and routine well. They are weaker on judgment calls, emotionally charged conversations, and callers who simply refuse to talk to a machine.
A live service wins when:
- Every call is high-stakes. Law intake, medical offices, and crisis-line-adjacent businesses often cannot afford a misunderstood caller. Ruby's live receptionists answer 24/7 in English and Spanish starting at $250/month for 100 minutes, with HIPAA compliance stated and scheduling included at no extra cost (Ruby pricing).
- Your callers skew older or less patient with automation. A human who can improvise beats an AI that escalates.
- You want a hybrid. Smith.ai's AI Receptionist handles calls first, and complex calls can transfer to its network of 500+ North America-based live receptionists as a per-call add-on. AI-initiated escalation carries no fee; live agent involvement you choose for verification or scheduling costs extra per call.
The honest trade: in our cost model, Ruby at 100 calls a month (3 minutes each) comes to $720 on its 500-minute plan, where AI tools land between $69.95 and $200. You are paying roughly 4-10x for human judgment. For some businesses that is cheap insurance. For most missed-call problems, it is overkill. We break the decision down further in AI receptionist vs answering service.
Choosing an AI receptionist for small business
- Upfirst fits budget-conscious small businesses that want clear per-call pricing and direct calendar booking. 14-day free trial, no credit card required. Skip if you need more than 600 calls a month on published pricing or 24/7 human support (theirs runs Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Eastern).
- Dialzara fits owners who want the lowest entry price ($29/month) and plan to add SMS or chat later (Dialzara pricing). Skip if you need warm transfer on the cheapest plan or enterprise compliance certifications, which are not stated.
- Rosie fits small service businesses wanting bilingual answering and simple minute tiers from $49/month. Skip if you need named compliance certifications or published overage rates; Rosie does not state either.
- Goodcall fits businesses with repeat callers, since unique-caller billing means one customer never double-counts in a month. It states SOC 2 and HIPAA compliance. Skip if you need confirmed language support or many connected tools on a low tier.
- My AI Front Desk fits teams wanting one flat plan covering phone, chat, SMS, email, and WhatsApp, with HIPAA stated and 20+ languages. Watch the 200 included voice minutes; heavy phone traffic moves to $0.25/min overage.
- Smith.ai AI Receptionist fits law firms and small businesses that want to test free first: 25 live calls a month at $0, with a credit card required at signup. The optional live-agent backup makes it the hybrid pick.
- Slang.ai fits restaurants and hospitality groups on OpenTable, SevenRooms, Yelp, or Resy, with 97 languages on Premium. At $399 per location, multi-unit operators should price carefully; the source does not state whether published prices are monthly or annual.
- Arini fits dental practices and DSOs focused on booking and patient reactivation. No published pricing, named integrations, or stated HIPAA/SOC 2, so you will be talking to sales first.
- Avoca fits home service businesses booking jobs into ServiceTitan, with SOC 2 stated. Pricing is quote-only and no free trial is mentioned.
- Ruby fits buyers who decided a human should answer, full stop.
Before you buy: test it with your own calls
Vendor demos use scripted calls. Your callers will not.
Three tools let you evaluate before real money moves. Smith.ai's free plan includes 25 live calls a month with all features, plus a Quality Studio that simulates up to 50 scenarios a month before you go live. Goodcall's free demo agent lets you build it, test it, and hear it answer; you pay only when you connect a number. Upfirst gives 14 days with full access and no credit card.
Whichever you trial, run the same disciplined test: your ten most common call types, your three weirdest, after-hours calls, and deliberate mumbles and interruptions. Our guide to testing an AI receptionist has the full script. If you would rather shortlist by your call volume and industry first, get matched or browse the full directory.
We have not made test calls to these services yet. Everything on this page comes from vendor-published pricing and feature pages, and we say so wherever a vendor does not publish a number.






