What is an AI helpdesk?

An AI helpdesk is not a new helpdesk. It is an AI agent layer that sits inside or next to your existing ticketing system and resolves customer requests end to end.

The model has shifted. Two years ago, AI in a helpdesk meant a copilot drafting replies for agents. Now vendors sell resolved tickets as the unit of work. You pay when the AI closes a conversation without a human touching it.

The main options split into three groups:

  • Native helpdesk AI — the AI is built into the helpdesk you already pay for. Zendesk AI agents, Freshdesk with Freddy AI, Gorgias AI Agent and HubSpot Customer Agent sit here.
  • Bring-your-own-helpdesk AI — the AI plugs into whatever helpdesk you run. Fin works with Salesforce, Zendesk, Freshdesk and HubSpot, or natively with Intercom.
  • Standalone AI platforms — Ada deploys AI agents across voice, messaging and email, quote-only pricing, aimed at enterprise teams.

If you are weighing chat against voice, read our voice agent vs chatbot breakdown first. This page covers ticket and chat resolution, not phone-first reception.

Seat fees vs resolution fees

This is the pricing decision that matters. Traditional helpdesks charge per seat per month. AI helpdesk agents add a second meter: per resolution, per outcome, per session or per interaction.

How each vendor bills:

  • Fin (Intercom): $0.99 per outcome. An outcome counts when the customer confirms resolution, does not ask for more help, or Fin completes a workflow. You pay nothing if Fin cannot answer or the customer asks for a human. With the Intercom helpdesk you also pay $19 per seat per month. With your existing helpdesk there is a $49 per month minimum that includes 50 outcomes, no seat costs. Voice outcomes cost $1.99 each via sales.
  • Zendesk AI agents: Seat subscription from $19 per agent per month (Support Team, paid yearly) up to $115 per agent per month (Suite Professional, paid yearly) (Zendesk AI agents pricing). AI usage is billed per automated resolution: plans include 5 to 10 resolutions per agent per month, then $1.50 each committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go. Billed only when there is no escalation to a human.
  • Freshdesk with Freddy AI: Seats from $19 per agent per month billed annually (Growth) (Freshdesk with Freddy AI pricing). First 500 Freddy AI Agent sessions included on Growth, Pro and Enterprise. After that, $49 per 100 sessions, and packs expire with your payment cycle. Freddy AI Copilot is an extra $29 per agent per month.
  • Gorgias AI Agent: Helpdesk plans from $10 per month (Starter, monthly billing) with ticket allowances (Gorgias AI Agent pricing). AI interactions cost $0.90 each on annual plans or $1.00 on monthly plans. Each AI interaction also counts as a helpdesk ticket against your allowance.
  • Crisp AI: Flat monthly per workspace, $45 to $295, with dollar-denominated AI credits included ($5 to $75 per plan) (Crisp AI pricing). The text does not state the cost of extra credits once included amounts run out.
  • Ada and HubSpot Customer Agent: No published per-resolution rate. Ada is custom quote. HubSpot bills by credits with no stated per-credit rate.

The pattern: per-resolution pricing shifts cost from headcount to volume. Good if your ticket count spikes seasonally. Risky if you cannot cap spend. Fin offers spending limits and alerts. Check whether your vendor does.

What does 1,000 AI-resolved tickets a month cost?

Using only published per-resolution and per-session rates, here is the AI usage cost for 1,000 fully resolved tickets in a month. Seat fees are extra where noted.

Vendor Published rate Math for 1,000 resolutions AI usage cost
Fin (existing helpdesk) $0.99 per outcome, $49/mo minimum includes 50 outcomes $49 covers 50; 950 × $0.99 $989.50
Fin (with Intercom helpdesk) $0.99 per outcome + $19/seat/mo 1,000 × $0.99 $990 + seats
Zendesk AI agents $1.50 committed / $2.00 pay-as-you-go per resolution 1,000 × $1.50 or $2.00 $1,500–$2,000 + seats, minus included allowance
Gorgias AI Agent $0.90 annual / $1.00 monthly per interaction 1,000 × $0.90 or $1.00 $900–$1,000 + plan
Freshdesk Freddy AI $49 per 100 sessions after 500 included 500 free; 500 ÷ 100 × $49 $245 + seats

Notes on the math:

  • Zendesk plans include 5 to 10 automated resolutions per agent per month, so your allowance offsets the total depending on seat count. We cannot calculate that offset without your seat number.
  • Gorgias counts each AI interaction as a helpdesk ticket too, so 1,000 AI resolutions also consume 1,000 tickets of your plan allowance. On Starter (50 tickets/month) that means overage at $0.40 per ticket.
  • Freshdesk session packs expire with your payment cycle, so unused sessions do not roll over.
  • Fin refunds the outcome if a conversation reopens, and charges at most once per conversation even if Fin answers multiple questions.

Ada, HubSpot Customer Agent and Crisp do not publish a per-resolution rate we can use here. Ada is quote-only, HubSpot's pricing data failed to load at capture time, and Crisp uses approximate credit bundles.

For phone-heavy teams, our AI call center savings calculator models the voice side.

Which AI helpdesk agent fits your setup?

Tool Billing unit Entry price AI rate Free trial Works with your helpdesk
Fin Per resolution $0.99/outcome, $49/mo min $0.99 per outcome ($1.99 voice) 14-day, no card Yes: Salesforce, Zendesk, Freshdesk, HubSpot
Zendesk AI agents Per resolution + seats $19/agent/mo paid yearly $1.50–$2.00 per resolution 14-day, no card Zendesk only
Freshdesk Freddy AI Per seat + sessions $19/agent/mo billed annually $49 per 100 sessions 14-day, Enterprise plan Freshdesk only
Gorgias AI Agent Per resolution + plan $10/mo billed monthly $0.90–$1.00 per interaction 7-day, no payment info Gorgias only
Crisp AI Flat monthly $45/mo per workspace Credit bundles 14-day, free plan Crisp only
Ada Quote-only Custom quote Not published Not stated Not stated
HubSpot Customer Agent Credits Not stated Not stated Not stated HubSpot only

Pick patterns from the published details:

  • Already on Zendesk, Freshdesk, Gorgias or HubSpot? Start with the native agent. The integration work is done.
  • Want outcome pricing without switching helpdesks? Fin is the only option here that explicitly works across Salesforce, Zendesk, Freshdesk and HubSpot with no seat costs on that plan.
  • Ecommerce on Shopify? Gorgias lists Shopify, BigCommerce, Magento and WooCommerce integrations, plus Loop Returns, Yotpo, Recharge and Klaviyo.
  • Enterprise with compliance requirements? Ada lists HIPAA, SOC 2, GDPR, PCI DSS and AIUC-1. Fin lists SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO 42001, HIPAA and AIUC-1.
  • Flat monthly budget? Crisp is the only flat-rate option, $45 to $295 per workspace per month.

Keep your helpdesk or switch?

You have three paths.

1. Keep your helpdesk, add AI on top. Fin's existing-helpdesk plan is built for this: $0.99 per outcome, $49 per month minimum including 50 outcomes, no seat costs or setup fees. It connects to Salesforce, Zendesk, Freshdesk and HubSpot, and hands off anything it cannot resolve. If the customer asks to speak to a human, you pay nothing. This is the lowest-disruption route if your team likes its current desk.

2. Use the AI already inside your helpdesk. If you run Zendesk, Freshdesk, Gorgias or HubSpot, the native agent is one contract and one bill. Zendesk includes AI agents in every Suite and Support plan with a resolution allowance. Freshdesk bundles 500 Freddy sessions on Growth and above. Gorgias includes 30 to 530 automated interactions per plan. The trade-off: you are locked to that vendor's AI roadmap.

3. Switch to an AI-first helpdesk. Intercom's combined plan ($19 per seat per month plus $0.99 per outcome) and Crisp's AI-First Support Suite ($295 per month) bundle desk and agent together. Switching makes sense when your current desk is also up for renewal, or when seat fees plus a separate AI layer cost more than a combined platform.

Run your own numbers before deciding. Take last month's ticket count, estimate the share AI could resolve, and multiply by the published rates above. If the vendor does not publish a rate, that is a sales call, not a spreadsheet.

Watch-outs before you buy

  • Double billing on Gorgias. Each AI Agent interaction also counts as a helpdesk ticket, so automated conversations consume both the ticket allowance and the per-interaction fee. Gorgias's pricing page also contains a conflicting second JSON-LD block listing Basic at $77, Pro at $471 and Advanced at $1,227 per month. Confirm current prices before signing.
  • Voice costs more. Fin voice outcomes are $1.99 each, double the standard rate, and require contacting sales. Zendesk voice AI agents require Zendesk voice, and some features need add-ons. Gorgias bills voice and SMS separately by call and text volume.
  • Session packs expire. Freshdesk's $49-per-100-sessions packs expire with your payment cycle. Unused capacity is lost.
  • Allowances are small. Zendesk's included 5 to 10 resolutions per agent per month and Gorgias's 30 included interactions on Starter and Basic cover very little volume. Budget for overage rates from day one.
  • Unpublished pricing. Ada has no published pricing, plans or free trial. HubSpot Customer Agent's pricing data failed to load at capture time and no per-credit rate is stated. Crisp does not state the cost of extra AI credits beyond the included bundles.
  • Compliance gaps. Zendesk, Freshdesk, Crisp, Gorgias (beyond GDPR/CCPA) and HubSpot list no certifications in the source text. If you need HIPAA or SOC 2 in writing, Fin and Ada publish theirs.
  • What counts as resolved. Fin counts an outcome when the customer confirms resolution, does not ask for more help, or Fin completes a workflow including handoffs. Gorgias reclassifies the interaction as a billable ticket if a human replies within 72 hours. Read each vendor's definition before forecasting costs.

We have not made test calls or run tickets through these tools yet. Our methodology page explains how we assess vendors, and how to test an AI receptionist applies to helpdesk agents too.