Why do people look for My AI Front Desk alternatives?
My AI Front Desk is a capable flat-rate option at $99/month (My AI Front Desk pricing). But three watch-outs push buyers to compare:
- Free-plan messaging conflicts. The homepage FAQ describes a Free plan with limited usage, while the pricing page states Frontdesk does not offer a permanently free plan. Buyers wanting a no-cost entry point can't tell if one exists.
- Only 200 voice minutes included. Heavy phone traffic moves to overage credits at 25 credits/min ($0.25/min) or to custom Enterprise pricing. Teams with predictable high volume often prefer published per-minute or per-call rates.
- API access is gated. Direct API access, custom integrations, and priority support require the custom-priced Partner/Enterprise plan. Buyers who need integrations without a sales call look elsewhere.
If none of these apply to you, My AI Front Desk remains a reasonable pick. If one does, the options below solve it.
Which My AI Front Desk alternative fits your situation?
Smith.ai AI Receptionist — best for low-volume teams wanting per-call billing and a real free plan.
What's different vs My AI Front Desk: Smith.ai bills per call, not per minute or flat credit pool. Its free plan includes 25 live calls/month with all features — a permanent tier, not a trial. It also offers optional escalation to 500+ North America-based live receptionists, free when the AI initiates it.
Price: $0/mo (25 calls) · $150/mo at $2.00/call · $500/mo at $1.67/call.
Pick if: you want to test free with no time limit and pay only for calls answered. Read our full Smith.ai review.
Upfirst — best for budget buyers wanting the lowest flat rate.
What's different vs My AI Front Desk: Upfirst starts at $24.95/month — a quarter of My AI Front Desk's entry price. It bills per call ($1.50 per additional call on Starter), not per minute, and includes 35+ languages on every plan. HIPAA BAAs are available on Custom plans.
Price: $24.95/mo (30 calls) · $59.95/mo (90 calls) · $159.95/mo (300 calls) · $299/mo (600 calls).
Pick if: you want the cheapest published entry point with calendar booking built in. Read our full Upfirst review.
Dialzara — best for per-minute billing with published overage rates.
What's different vs My AI Front Desk: Dialzara publishes per-minute overage rates on every tier ($0.48/min down to $0.35/min), so high-volume teams can model costs without a sales call. It also sells outbound voice, an SMS agent ($19/month + $0.05/message), and a website chatbot ($39/month standalone, free with voice plans) as separate add-ons.
Price: $29/mo (60 min) · $99/mo (220 min) · $199/mo (500 min) · $349/mo (1,000 min).
Pick if: you want granular per-minute pricing and modular add-ons. Read our full Dialzara review.
Rosie — best for bilingual answering at a low flat rate.
What's different vs My AI Front Desk: Rosie starts at $49/month with 250 minutes and speaks fluent English and Spanish on every call (Rosie pricing). Its Scale plan ($149/month) adds warm and live transfers, which My AI Front Desk includes on its base plan — but Rosie's entry price is half.
Price: $49/mo (250 min) · $149/mo (1,000 min) · $299/mo (2,000 min).
Pick if: you want bilingual answering and a low entry price, and don't need HIPAA. Read our full Rosie review.
Goodcall — best for SOC 2 and HIPAA compliance on a flat plan.
What's different vs My AI Front Desk: Goodcall lists both SOC 2 and HIPAA compliance on its standard plans; My AI Front Desk lists HIPAA only. Goodcall bills by unique customer (79¢ per extra on Starter), not per minute, which suits businesses with repeat callers.
Price: $79/mo (100 unique customers) · $129/mo (500) · $299/mo (2,000).
Pick if: you need SOC 2 and HIPAA without a custom quote. Read our full Goodcall review.
Slang.ai — best for restaurants and hospitality.
What's different vs My AI Front Desk: Slang.ai is purpose-built for restaurants, with native integrations for OpenTable, SevenRooms, Yelp, and Resy, plus reservation cross-selling and VIP routing. My AI Front Desk targets property management, legal, and general SMBs. Slang.ai supports 97 languages on Premium.
Price: $399 per location (Core) · $599 (Premium) · Custom (Enterprise).
Pick if: you run a restaurant and need reservation management, not general call answering. Read our full Slang.ai review.
Ruby — best for teams wanting live human receptionists.
What's different vs My AI Front Desk: Ruby uses live human receptionists, not AI, to answer calls and chats 24/7. It includes HIPAA compliance and bilingual English/Spanish answering. The trade-off: it costs more ($250/month for 100 minutes) and doesn't publish overage rates.
Price: $250/mo (100 min) · $395/mo (200 min) · $720/mo (500 min).
Pick if: you want a human on every call and can pay for it. Read our full Ruby review.
How do My AI Front Desk alternatives compare on price and features?
| Tool | Entry price | Billing unit | Free plan/trial | HIPAA | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| My AI Front Desk | $99/mo | Flat monthly (credit overage) | 7-day trial; free plan unclear | Yes | Flat-rate multi-channel SMBs |
| Smith.ai | $0/mo | Per call ($2.00–$3.00) | Free forever (25 calls) | Not stated | Low-volume, human backup |
| Upfirst | $24.95/mo | Per call overage ($1.50) | 14-day trial | On Custom plans | Budget buyers |
| Dialzara | $29/mo | Per minute ($0.35–$0.48) | 7-day trial | Not stated | Published per-minute rates |
| Rosie | $49/mo | Flat monthly (minutes) | 7-day trial | Not stated | Bilingual, low cost |
| Goodcall | $79/mo | Per unique customer | Free demo agent | Yes (SOC 2 too) | Compliance on flat plan |
| Slang.ai | $399/location | Flat monthly | Not stated | SOC II | Restaurants |
| Ruby | $250/mo | Flat monthly (minutes) | Not stated | Yes | Live human receptionists |
Prices are entry tiers. Overage rates and included volumes vary — check each vendor's pricing page before committing.
What should you check before switching from My AI Front Desk?
Three checks prevent surprises:
- Overage math. My AI Front Desk charges $0.25/min after 200 minutes. Dialzara charges up to $0.48/min on its entry plan. Upfirst charges $1.50 per extra call. Model your actual monthly volume against each vendor's overage rate, not just the entry price. Our AI call center savings calculator can help.
- Handoff quality. My AI Front Desk warm-transfers with a full transcript. Smith.ai, Upfirst, and Dialzara (Pro and up) also warm-transfer. Rosie requires the $149 Scale plan for warm transfers. If live escalation matters, confirm the tier that includes it.
- Compliance and integrations. If you need HIPAA, My AI Front Desk, Goodcall, Ruby, and Upfirst (Custom) offer it. If you need API access without a custom quote, Dialzara includes it on Business Elite ($349/month); My AI Front Desk gates it behind Enterprise (Dialzara pricing). For a structured test process, see how to test an AI receptionist.
For a broader view of the category, browse our AI receptionist solutions or the full directory.






