Which Fin alternative should you pick?

Three situations cover most buyers:

  • You already run Zendesk → Zendesk AI agents. Per-resolution billing like Fin, but it lives inside the Zendesk Suite you already pay for.
  • You want predictable flat monthly costs → Crisp AI. Flat per-workspace pricing from $45/month with AI credits included, not per-outcome billing.
  • You run an ecommerce store, especially Shopify → Gorgias AI Agent. Helpdesk plus AI agent on one bill, with deep Shopify, BigCommerce, and Magento integrations.

Two more worth a look: Freshdesk with Freddy AI if you prefer a traditional ticket helpdesk with metered AI sessions, and Ada if you're an enterprise that needs named compliance certifications (HIPAA, SOC 2, GDPR, PCI DSS, AIUC-1) and can handle a sales-led buying process.

Why do people look for Fin alternatives?

Fin's published watch-outs explain most of the search traffic for Fin alternatives:

  • Voice costs double. Voice support runs $1.99 per outcome versus $0.99 for text, and it requires contacting sales. If phone is your main channel, that's a pricing conversation, not a self-serve signup.
  • The Pro add-on adds $100+ per workspace/month. Advanced AI features and the Operator agent sit behind a paid add-on, so the headline $0.99 per outcome isn't the full cost for teams that want depth.
  • The existing-helpdesk option has a $49/month minimum. Even if you resolve fewer than 50 outcomes, you pay the minimum. Low-volume teams subsidize capacity they don't use.
  • No flat-rate option. If you want one predictable monthly number regardless of resolution volume, Fin's per-outcome model doesn't offer it. That's the core reason buyers compare helpdesk AI agents with different billing units.

The alternatives, one by one

Zendesk AI agents

What's different vs Fin: AI resolution is bundled into the Zendesk Suite, with an included allowance of 5–10 automated resolutions per agent/month. Fin works with Zendesk; this is Zendesk's own agent. Supports 80 languages with automatic switching.

Price: Base plans from $19/agent/month paid yearly (Support Team) up to $115/agent/month (Suite Professional). Extra automated resolutions cost $1.50 each committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go.

Pick if: Your team already lives in Zendesk and wants AI across messaging, email, voice, web, mobile, and social without adding a second vendor.

Freshdesk with Freddy AI

What's different vs Fin: A traditional ticket-based helpdesk first, with AI metered in sessions rather than outcomes. Growth, Pro, and Enterprise plans include 500 free Freddy AI Agent sessions once per account. Live translation covers 60+ languages.

Price: Plans from $19/agent/month billed annually (Growth) to $89/agent/month (Enterprise). After the included sessions, each additional 100 sessions costs $49. Freddy AI Copilot is an extra $29/agent/month.

Pick if: You want a conventional ticketing helpdesk where AI is an optional, metered layer—not the core of the bill.

Ada

What's different vs Fin: Enterprise-focused, deployed across voice, messaging, and email, with a compliance list that includes HIPAA, SOC 2, GDPR, PCI DSS, and AIUC-1. Fin also lists HIPAA, SOC 2, and AIUC-1, but Ada targets larger, regulated support orgs.

Price: Custom quote only. No published plans or free trial.

Pick if: You're an enterprise support team in a regulated industry (health insurance, financial services, betting & gaming) and you're comfortable with a sales-led process.

Gorgias AI Agent

What's different vs Fin: Built for ecommerce. Integrations include Shopify, BigCommerce, Magento, WooCommerce, Loop Returns, Yotpo, Recharge, Klaviyo, and Attentive. Channels cover chat, email, SMS, phone, and social.

Price: Helpdesk plans from $10/month (Starter, monthly billing) to $750/month billed annually (Advanced). AI Agent interactions cost $0.90 each on annual plans or $1.00 on monthly plans. Note: each AI interaction also counts as a helpdesk ticket against your allowance.

Pick if: You run a Shopify or similar store and want helpdesk plus AI agent on a single bill.

Crisp AI

What's different vs Fin: Flat monthly per-workspace pricing, not per-outcome. The autonomous agent (Hugo) and copilot are included in plans, with AI usage governed by included dollar credits. LiveTranslate covers 50+ languages. A free plan exists (2 seats, no AI credits).

Price: Mini at $45/month per workspace (4 seats, ~$5 AI credits ≈ 90 automated conversations), Essentials at $95/month (10 seats, ~450 conversations), Plus at $295/month (20+ seats, ~1,350 conversations). Enterprise is custom.

Pick if: You want a predictable monthly number and your volume fits inside the included AI credits.

How do Fin alternatives compare on price and fit?

Tool Billing unit Entry price AI usage price Free trial Best for
Fin Per resolution $19/seat/mo + $0.99 per outcome (or $0.99/outcome with $49/mo minimum on existing helpdesks) $0.99 per outcome; $1.99 for voice 14 days, no card Teams on Intercom, Salesforce, Zendesk, Freshdesk, or HubSpot wanting outcome-based pricing
Zendesk AI agents Per resolution + seats $19/agent/month paid yearly $1.50 committed / $2.00 pay-as-you-go per automated resolution 14 days, no card Teams already on Zendesk
Freshdesk with Freddy AI Per seat + metered sessions $19/agent/month billed annually $49 per 100 sessions after 500 free 14 days; 500 free AI sessions Ticket-first support teams
Ada Quote-only Custom quote Not published Not stated Regulated enterprises
Gorgias AI Agent Per resolution + plan $10/month billed monthly $0.90/interaction annual, $1.00 monthly 7 days, no payment info Ecommerce, especially Shopify
Crisp AI Flat monthly $45/month per workspace Included AI credits; extra credit cost not stated 14 days; free plan available Teams wanting predictable flat billing

Two cost mechanics to check before you sign anything:

  • Stacked billing. Zendesk charges seats plus per-resolution fees. Gorgias counts each AI interaction as both a ticket and a per-interaction charge. Freshdesk meters sessions on top of seats. Model your real volume with our AI call center savings calculator before comparing headline rates.
  • Voice premiums. Fin charges $1.99 per voice outcome. Gorgias bills voice and SMS separately by call and text volume. If phone matters, read our voice agent vs chatbot breakdown first.

What should you check before switching from Fin?

  1. Your real outcome volume. Fin charges at most once per conversation and refunds reopened outcomes. Alternatives count differently—sessions (Freshdesk), automated resolutions (Zendesk), interactions that also consume tickets (Gorgias). Pull 90 days of conversation data before comparing unit prices.
  2. Handoff behavior. Fin charges nothing if the customer asks for a human. Zendesk bills automated resolutions only when there's no human escalation. Gorgias re-bills an AI interaction as a regular ticket if an agent replies within 72 hours. These rules change your effective cost per resolved conversation.
  3. Compliance paperwork. Fin lists SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO 42001, HIPAA, and AIUC-1. Ada lists HIPAA, SOC 2, GDPR, PCI DSS, AIUC-1. Gorgias lists GDPR and CCPA. Crisp, Zendesk, and Freshdesk don't state certifications in the source text—ask directly if you need them.
  4. Trial the handoff, not just the answer. Every vendor here except Ada offers a free trial. Use it to test escalation quality, not just resolution rate. Our guide on how to test an AI receptionist covers the same discipline for chat agents.

If you'd rather not run the comparison yourself, get matched with vendors that fit your channel mix and volume, or browse the full directory.