Why do people look for Smith.ai AI Receptionist alternatives?
Smith.ai AI Receptionist is a strong option, but its published watch-outs push some buyers elsewhere.
- Credit card required at signup. Even the free plan requires a credit card, with overages authorized later.
- Live agent involvement costs extra. AI-initiated escalation is free, but chosen live agent involvement for verification or scheduling is a per-call add-on.
- Every answered call counts toward quota by default. Spam allowance caps removals at 10% per cycle.
If any of these are dealbreakers, the alternatives below offer different billing models, free trials without a credit card, or human answering included in the base price.
Which Smith.ai AI Receptionist alternative fits your situation?
Upfirst — Best for low-volume, predictable pricing
What's different vs Smith.ai: Flat monthly plans with included call allowances (30 to 600 calls) and published per-call overage rates ($0.70–$1.50). No credit card required for the 14-day free trial.
Price: $24.95/month (Starter, 30 calls) up to $299/month (Scale, 600 calls). Additional calls $0.70–$1.50 each.
Pick if: You want clear per-call pricing without a credit card at signup, and your volume stays under 600 calls/month.
Goodcall — Best for flat monthly billing
What's different vs Smith.ai: Flat monthly pricing with no per-minute charges. Overage is a published per-customer rate (79¢/26¢/15¢), not per call. Free demo agent: build, test, and hear it answer before paying.
Price: $79/month (Starter, 100 unique customers) up to $299/month (Scale, 2,000 unique customers). Extra customers 79¢–15¢ each.
Pick if: You want a predictable monthly bill and dislike per-call or per-minute metering.
Dialzara — Best for per-minute billing with add-ons
What's different vs Smith.ai: Per-minute billing with included talk-time buckets (60–1,000 minutes). Add-on SMS agent ($19/month) and website chatbot ($39/month standalone, free with voice plans).
Price: $29/month (Business Lite, 60 minutes) up to $349/month (Business Elite, 1,000 minutes). Overage $0.35–$0.48/minute.
Pick if: You want per-minute billing and plan to add SMS or chat later.
Rosie — Best for bilingual answering on a budget
What's different vs Smith.ai: Flat monthly plans with included minutes (250–2,000). Speaks fluent English and Spanish on every call. 7-day free trial with all features.
Price: $49/month (Professional, 250 minutes) up to $299/month (Growth, 2,000 minutes).
Pick if: You need bilingual answering and want a low entry price with a free trial.
My AI Front Desk — Best for multi-channel coverage
What's different vs Smith.ai: Covers phone, web chat, email, SMS, and WhatsApp in one platform. 20+ languages. HIPAA compliance stated.
Price: $99/month (Business-in-a-Box, 200 voice minutes) or $79/month billed annually. Overage $0.25/minute.
Pick if: You want one flat plan covering calls, chat, SMS, and email.
Slang.ai — Best for restaurants
What's different vs Smith.ai: Built for restaurants and hospitality. Integrates with OpenTable, SevenRooms, Yelp, and Resy. 97 languages with automatic detection.
Price: $399 per location (Core) up to $599 (Premium). Enterprise custom.
Pick if: You run a restaurant and need reservation management with deep hospitality integrations.
Ruby — Best for live human receptionists
What's different vs Smith.ai: Live virtual receptionists, not AI. 24/7 human answering with bilingual support. HIPAA compliance stated.
Price: $250/month (100 minutes) up to $1,725/month (larger plan). Live chat plans from $143/month.
Pick if: You want human receptionists answering calls, not AI, and prefer flat monthly pricing.
How do Smith.ai AI Receptionist alternatives compare on price?
| Tool | Entry price | Billing unit | Overage rate | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai AI Receptionist | $0/mo (25 calls) | Per call | $3.00/call | Free forever plan |
| Upfirst | $24.95/mo | Flat monthly | $1.50/call | 14-day, no credit card |
| Goodcall | $79/mo | Flat monthly | 79¢/customer | Free demo agent |
| Dialzara | $29/mo | Per minute | $0.48/min | 7-day |
| Rosie | $49/mo | Flat monthly | Not stated | 7-day |
| My AI Front Desk | $99/mo | Flat monthly | $0.25/min | 7-day |
| Slang.ai | $399/location | Flat monthly | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ruby | $250/mo | Flat monthly | Not stated | Not stated |
Smith.ai's per-call model works well for low, steady volume. Flat-monthly tools like Goodcall and Rosie suit teams wanting predictable bills. Per-minute tools like Dialzara fit variable call lengths.
What should you check before switching from Smith.ai?
Before switching, confirm these details with each vendor:
- Overage handling. Smith.ai publishes $3.00/call overage. Some alternatives do not publish overage rates.
- Credit card requirements. Smith.ai requires a credit card even on the free plan. Upfirst does not.
- Live agent costs. Smith.ai charges extra for chosen live agent involvement. Ruby includes live receptionists in the base price.
- Spam filtering. Smith.ai filters known spam before answering. Confirm how each alternative handles spam calls.
- Compliance. Smith.ai does not state HIPAA or SOC 2. Goodcall, My AI Front Desk, and Ruby state HIPAA compliance.
Use our AI receptionist cost calculator to estimate your monthly bill across billing models.






